/ About Us / Local Government

Local Government


The City of Pearland is organized as a Council-Manager form of government. All powers of the city are vested in the City Council. The City Council is responsible for:

  • Enacting legislation
  • Adopting budgets
  • Determining policies
  • Appointing the city manager

The City Manager, City Attorney, and Municipal Court Judge are under the direction of the Mayor and City Council. Under Council/Manager form of government, the City Manager oversees City staff.

Elections & Terms

The legislative and governing body of the City of Pearland consists of a mayor and seven council members. The mayor and council members are elected from the city at-large for three-year terms. Council members are limited to two consecutive terms and the mayor may serve without term limitations. Elections are held annually on the second Saturday in May.

The Mayor & City Council

The Mayor and Council provide community leadership, develop policies to guide the City in delivering services and achieving community goals and encourage citizen awareness and involvement. Elected members of the City Council serve part-time as part of their commitment to the community and serving Pearland.

The Mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council and is recognized as the head of city government for all ceremonial purposes and for purposes of military law. The Mayor is allowed to vote in case of a tie.

Current city officials include:
Mayor Kevin Cole
Councilmember Position 1 – Joseph Koza
Councilmember Position 2 – Tony Carbone
Councilmember Position 3 – Mona Chavarria
Councilmember Position 4 – Clint Byrom
Councilmember Position 5 -Layni Cade
Councilmember Position 6 -Chad Thumann
Councilmember Position 7 – Rushi Patel
City Manager – Trent Epperson

Council Meetings

Unless otherwise rescheduled, the City Council meets on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall and the agendas are posted to the city website 72 hours prior to meetings.


The City of Pearland is an incorporated city that lies within three counties in the Houston MSA—Brazoria, Harris and Fort Bend. The vast majority of the city lies within Brazoria County. Brazoria County has a population estimate of over 374,000 people, covers over 1,407 square miles and has its county seat in the City of Angleton. The county is governed by a County Judge and Commission with four commissioners elected within the precincts.

County officials include:
Brazoria County Judge – Matt Sebesta
Commissioner, Precinct 1 – Dude Payne
Commissioner, Precinct 2 – Ryan Cade
Commissioner, Precinct 3 – Stacy Adams
Commissioner, Precinct 4 – David Linder


A Municipal Utility District (MUD) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, authorized by the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to provide water, sewage, drainage and other services within the MUD boundaries.

A MUD may adopt and enforce all necessary charges, fees and taxes in order to provide district facilities and service. MUD tax rates, like all property tax rates, vary according to property values and debt requirements. MUD rates generally decline over time as the MUD is built out and as operating and debt service costs are shared by more homeowners. Pearland has multiple MUD districts inside the city limits and in the extraterritorial jurisdiction surrounding the city.